Search FLL

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Wordpress Blog

5. What happens if my team goes past 5 minutes when giving their Project presentation?

A: Some Judges may warn the team that they have gone over five minutes, while others will allow the team to finish. In some cases, the tournament may need to keep a very strict time schedule, so Judges will end the presentation at five minutes. If the Judges allow a team to go over five minutes, that may reduce the amount of time Judges have to ask questions and could affect how the Judges assess your team. Your team should practice timing their presentation before the tournament to reduce the chance they will go over five minutes.

4. Can elimination or alliance rounds be used to determine Robot Performance Award?

A: The Robot Performance Award recognizes a team that scores the most points during the Robot Game.   Teams have a chance to compete in at least three 2.5 minute matches and only the highest score out of the three matches counts.   While some events may hold elimination or alliance matches for the excitement and fun, these may not be used to determine the Robot Performance Award.  Instead, any awards provided for elimination or alliance matches may only be Local Awards.

3. Is it possible to win the Robot Performance Award based on field/game score without doing the Project?

A: It is not possible to win the Robot Performance Award without doing the Project.  Teams must participate in all 3 judged areas (Project, Core Values and Robot Design) and the Robot Game to be eligible for any Core Awards and Robot Performance is a Core Award. This rule encourages teams to embrace the spirit of discovery and focus on all aspects of the Challenge.

2. Does FIRST LEGO League have an official policy on how teams advance to Championships from Qualifiers?

A: In accordance with the Participation Rules, teams are eligible for awards and advancement only at the first official event of each qualifying level attended during season.  In most cases, event capacity within a region limits team participation to only one qualifying event each season. 

1. How is the Champion’s Award determined? Are certain weights used?

A: The Champion’s Award recognizes a team that “embodies the FIRST LEGO League experience, by fully embracing our Core Values while achieving excellence and innovation in both the Robot Game and Design, and the Innovation Project.” At an official event judges will look for balanced, strong performance across all areas; this means that all three judged sessions (Core Values, Robot Design, and Project) and the Robot Game performance are weighted equally (each worth 25% of the team’s overall score) to determine the initial group of Champion’s candidates.